where’d you get your t-shirt…

So I’m not sure what it is but I’ve never had that tendency (that a lot of people I know have) to collect cool t-shirts that have “meaning,” you know, that are from all sorts of “places,” that are super-authentic, blah blah blah, the whole deal.

I mean, obviously I have lots of t-shirts (obviously!), I wear them all the time – but most of them are sort of generic and blah, and I can’t tell you how many times someone’s asked me, “Oh wow, I like your shirt, where’d you get it?” and then I’m like, “Uh…” I flounder around for a bit, then hesitantly offer, “Old Navy?”non-kiss-t-shirt-gross.jpg

What gets me is that it seems so easy for others – like all you have to do is live a great full life (which I think I half-do now and again) and by virtue of this full life, the cool t-shirt collection will just form around you: “Oh yeah I got this at Niagara Falls, um, the day before I broke my leg in five places actually,” or “I found this in some tiny thrift store in Beacon, NY under like a million LIFE magazines, and it just sort of spoke to me…” and you can continue the train of thought if you’d like…

Argh. Maybe it’s clear that my problem’s not only about t-shirts – that even though I feel like I do a lot of things, am enjoying my life-journey, whathaveyou, I don’t have a whole lot to show for it in terms of “things,” – I don’t have the archivist instinct – rarely buy souvenirs, take pictures, scour thrift-shops for memorables, etc.

Yet, if a whole bunch of old-ratty t-shirts stained with this and that tucked into the dark corners of your dresser help dredge up some old-ratty memories in the dark recesses of your brain, stained with “oh wows” and “I shouldn’t have done that’s” – then, the whole practice might be sort of worthwhile? Or, I could just continue being really cheap and steal authentic tees from my b-friend? Wow. Wow.

4 Comments

Filed under throwing it out there

4 responses to “where’d you get your t-shirt…

  1. I need those t-shirts back.

  2. Lately I’ve noticed people taking tons of pictures all the time and posting them on facebook or flickr and it’s almost like the pictures replace the actual memories. Like, last New Year’s Eve wasn’t that fun but Grin brought her camera and took like 50 pictures of people in wacky poses and everyone looked up the pictures online and tagged themselves in them and left comments and so now it seems like we had this crazy fun time, even though the reality of it was pretty forgettable. I don’t know what this has to do with t-shirts exactly, but it bothers me.

  3. Where’d you go? Your fans miss you.

  4. Patrick

    I agree. Screw the t-shirts when I can actually go visit and travel.

Leave a Reply

